Author Topic: Announcing nominees for 2018 SPAH Awards  (Read 795 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Winslow Yerxa

  • Chrome-Meister
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,798
    • Winslow Yerxa
Announcing nominees for 2018 SPAH Awards
« on: July 08, 2018, 03:59:37 PM »
Here are the nominees for SPAH awards in 2018. Award recipients will be announced at the 2018 SPAH convention in St. Louis, Missouri, on August 18, 2018

For the Bernie Bray Harmonica Player of the Year Award:

Carlos del Junco, Canadian diatonic blues and jazz harmonicist

Hermine Deurloo, chromatic jazz harmonicist from the Netherlands

PT Gazell, half-valved swing diatonic player from Nashville, Tennessee

Jon Gindick, legendary player, instructional author and Jam Camp producer from southern California

For the Pete Pedersen Lifetime Achievement Award:

Robert Bonfiglio, world-famous classical harmonica soloist and recipient of the Bernie Bray award in 2013

Tony Boscarino, 97-year-old SPAH member since the beginning, former Sergeant-at-Arms, and harmonica band player since the 1940s.

Frank Davis, longtime mover and shaker of the Gateway Harmonica Club, this year’s host, and recipient of the President’s Award in 2013. he was instrumental in making SPAH an event that wasn’t always held in Romulus, Michigan.

Hermine Deurloo, as noted above.

Joe Filisko, harmonica soloist, researcher, builder, and teacher, and recipient of the Bernie Bray award in 2001.

PT Gazell, as noted above.

Jon Gindick, as note above.

Kirk “Jellyroll” Johnson, much-recorded stalwart of the Nashville harmonica scene.

Delbert McClinton, who taught John Lennon.

George Miklas, multi-harmonica player, teacher, and owner of the Harmonica Gallery.

Mickey Raphael, longtime member of Willie Nelson’s band and much recorded accompanist.

Manfred Wewers, SPAH historian and author.

For the Stan Harper Award of Special Merit:

Frank Davis, as noted above.

Jon Gindick, as noted above.

Greg Heumann of Blowsmeaway  productions, builder of microphones and related gear for harmonica players.

JP Pagàn, former longtime editor of SPAH’s Harmonica Happenings magazine, webmaster,  and producer of SPAH’s convention program and related materials.

Manfred Wewers, as noted above.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2018, 04:05:27 PM by Winslow Yerxa »

Offline SlideMeister

  • Owner/Administrator
  • MonsterMeister
  • *
  • Posts: 27,001
  • A.J. Fedor ><((((º>
    • A.J.'s mini-site
Re: Announcing nominees for 2018 SPAH Awards
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2018, 04:31:05 PM »
THose guys are all pretty much winners already. That's a great line-up. :)

Offline jimjams

  • Chrome-Minator
  • ***
  • Posts: 976
  • Every note counts
Re: Announcing nominees for 2018 SPAH Awards
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2018, 07:31:08 AM »
The nominees show the eclectic diversity of musical styles that emanates from our favorite little instrument.
Musical artistry comes via a relentless pursuit of beauty.