Author Topic: What Are Favorite Harmonica Positions and Why?  (Read 2231 times)

gerard1973

What Are Favorite Harmonica Positions and Why?
« on: August 06, 2007, 02:54:02 PM »
According to the harmonica research that I came across, about ninety percent of all harmonica players play the 10-hole diatonic harmonica in "cross harp" or second position. that means that the other ten percent play "straight" harmonica in first position, the original way it was designed.

My Favorite Harmonica Positions

1st Position
Here are my favorite harmonica positions. Right now I'm one the the 10% of all harmonica players who play the 10-hole diatonic harmonica the way it was designed to be played. I play "straight" harmonica in the 1st positionn. Why? Because I'm still learning how to bend a note properly and the only way to play a harmonica without any bending is to play your major (Ionian) and minor scales (Aeolian) in first position. This is a very simple position to learn and for playing simple melodies, kids songs, folk songs and country songs. You can play two scales in this position but it is limited in what you can do with it. Blues can be played in this position but it is harder to do. The blues scale is much easier to play in cross harp and is probably why it is played in the 2nd position so much.

2nd Position
I have been doing a lot of work in 2nd position (mixolydian). I like cross harp but in order to play the major, blues, major pentatonic, minor pentatonic, and mixolydian scales in that position, you have to be able to bend two notes correctly. I'm still working on my note bending, so as soon as I perfect my bends a little more to my satisfaction, I will probably be joining the rest of the harmonica world by moving over into the second position.

3rd Position